The Self Improvement Toolshop

tools to make you a better you

Marketing for Bucks on Mother’s Day

scan001313.jpg 

I have probably violated the blogging rules for blogging success.  As you know my blog is a little bit of a hodge podge.  I have self improvement techniques and posts for your personal life as well as your work life.

That is probably a blog no no if I want to get “targeted” readers.   Actually I would like targeted readers that do purchase what I am offering.  However, I honestly do not know what that really means if I ponder it.  I also honestly do not know who reads this blog. 

I do not get a lot of feedback so I keep going in the two areas of personal and work self improvement. 

This all leads me to todays post which maybe hodge podge and maybe not since I do not know the psyche of my readers.

Yesterday was Mother’s Day.  I usually dislike card holidays.  Card holidays are the ones where there is huge display of cards in the card section for a holiday.  On a philosophical level I think Mother’s Day should not be once a year.  I think that should be an every day thing. 

On the other hand I do like the idea that there is a day specifically where you honor and tell your mom she is appreciated and loved especially.  It would be thoughtless if this one day would be excluded from the card holidays. 

It is also nice to give your mom one day (hopefully many) where she is specifically treated special, respected and acknowledged. 

So here comes my pet peeve.  I market products on the internet.  I want to earn an income from doing this.  In that light I subscribe to many of the internet gurus and get daily e mails from them.

I got a lot of Mother’s Day e mails from them.  They love and respect their moms.  Now comes the part that really pissed me off.  In their e mail while talking about their moms and Mother’s Day they tried to sell me something.

I thought that was gauche.  I found it distasteful.  I found it disrespectful.  I do not think their moms would be proud of that nor them. 

I was turned off.  If they want to share about their moms and mothers, great.  Do that but do not throw in a sales message.  Show some humility.  Show some integrity.  Don’t try to capitalize on this.  If you must pitch a sale make a separate e mail.  Don’t combo something sacred with pitching a sale. 

It was just a big no no to me.  What do you think? 

Marcia, Your Confidence Coach

May 14, 2007 - Posted by | about me

4 Comments »

  1. Can you tell me one simple thing..
    What is the definition of Self esteem..we all know what is right or what is wrong..then after that we never implement..
    see i have my dream..but i am not zeal in that..sometime…i mean u can say i am not taking gud interest.
    So what is the best way to use my full potential.in a specific..????

    Comment by kartik | May 22, 2007 | Reply

  2. sent me ur suggestion also..

    Comment by kartik | May 22, 2007 | Reply

  3. kartik,
    good question. in the future i will post about this. i need to really think about it because for me the answer to your question is complex and needs real thought.
    thanks for asking and for asking to get my heart and brain in gear.

    Comment by abetteryou | May 22, 2007 | Reply

  4. Hey, good info! Keep up the good job!

    Hope we can share some ideas on internet marketing, blog me at http://www.edisonlim.com
    Or visit me at http://www.internetmarketingreveal.com

    Comment by vanneyat | July 2, 2007 | Reply


Leave a comment