The Self Improvement Toolshop

tools to make you a better you

Ads that get you Sales

scan001314.jpg

I just found another great article for you.  This will get you on your way to writing excellent ads that get you the reponse you want.

*****************************************************

Why Some Ads Fail Miserably While Others Succeed Wonderfully

By David Garfinkel

© 2002 David Garfinkel
-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

The voice on the other end of the phone was tense and
impatient.  It was a new client calling.  After we
introduced ourselves, he got right to the point: “Our
advertising isn’t working and we need some help.”

Who I was talking doesn’t matter very much, because it could
have been almost any of my clients.  That’s because,
statistically, most advertising doesn’t work – if by “work”
you mean, bring in new business.  Think about your own ads.
Even if they already generate leads or create sales for you,
don’t you have the sneakin’ suspicion they could be working
a lot better?

Here are two reasons why most ads don’t work at all – or if
they work, why they deliver far less business than they
could:

1. Most ads don’t get the attention of your prospects.  This
is pretty basic.  It is physically impossible for prospects
to contact you unless they know about you, and if you’re
counting on them to find out about you from your
advertising, then step one is for your ad to get your
prospects’ attention.  Unfortunately, some ads actually do
get attention, but…

2. These ads get the attention of your prospect in the wrong
way.  For an ad to generate a qualified lead or create an
immediate sale, it must start off on the right foot.  That
“right foot” sets the right tone and invites a qualified
prospect to call you.  I just saw an ad in Newsweek that
still has me wondering what it’s about and why someone spent
tens of thousands of dollars on it.  (Bet it wasn’t their
own money.) 

The ad shows a boy on a bicycle flying through the air, out
in the wilderness.  The headline, in a semicircle, says,
“They will always fall before they fly.”  Since I’m not a
kid and I’m not a parent, it doesn’t do much for me. 

But wait – even if I were a parent or a kid, I still don’t
think this ad is going to sell me on anything that would
make the advertiser any money.  If I were a kid, the only
thing this ad could sell me on is taking these kind of risks
to annoy my parents.  And if I were a parent, the only thing
I can imagine this ad would sell me on is making sure my kid
never rides his mountain bike in hilly terrain – since,
obviously, the kid in the picture is on a collision course
with certain death.

I’ve got to hand it to this ad in one department – it’s
interesting.  It got my attention.  But that’s as far as it
got.

The Headline’s The Thing

Let’s get off this negative track and look at some ads that
I am certain are making money.  These are not from a glossy
national magazine, but small ads from today’s local
newspaper.  (By the way, small ads that run in the newspaper
are usually paid for by the person who wrote them.  And
these ads get to the point and are likely to be profitable.
Hmmm… I wonder if I’m noticing a trend here… )

All I’m going to show you are the headlines of these ads.
But I promise you, the headlines are all you need to see.
Tell me if you can guess what each ad is about, and who its
target market is:

1. Lose 3-5 Pounds Per Week With The System Proven By Over
90,000 Successful Patients

2. Up To 40% Savings On Heating And Cooling Costs With A
(Brand Name) Foam Roof

3. Men And Women – Remove Unwanted Hair Today!

Now, I know what you’re thinking.  Not very clever.  Not
very hip.  In fact, those headlines are downright boring!

Hmmm.  I have two things to say about that.  First, if you
have tried everything under the sun to lose 40 pounds and
you are frustrated to the point of tears, then headline
number 1 isn’t that boring to you. (And I would say the same
regarding people in the target market for headlines 2 and
3.)

The second thing is I want to say is, yes, and it’s also
pretty boring to stand in line at the bank waiting to make a
large deposit into your business checking account.  But you
know what?  Once you’ve gotten past that boredom barrier,
it’s actually sort of nice.  You know?

And here’s some interesting news:  A good headline on your
ad will get you 90% of the way from the agony of defeat to
the ecstasy of advertising success – so you can deal with
weighty issues like the boredom barrier and what to do with
all that money.

===============================================
David Garfinkel & Jim Edwards are co-authors of the NEW
“eBook Secrets Exposed”: How to Make MASSIVE Amounts of
Money – In Record Time – With Your Own eBook!
WHY are some people getting positively RICH selling ebooks?
Click Here Now

April 21, 2007 - Posted by | home business, how to succeed, internet marketing

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

