The Self Improvement Toolshop

tools to make you a better you

You are the Boss

scan00138.jpg

Before I started my work at home business I worked in an office.  I enjoyed working in an office but I knew that I could earn a substantially better income if I had my own business.   

Transitioning from an office based job to a work at home business was challenging.  In my office based job I had a series of tasks I was responsible for.  In my work at home business I was responsible for everything.  That was a huge change.   

If something did not go right I could not hold the boss or a co worker responsible.  IF something did not go right I was responsible.  When something did not go right I felt annoyed, disappointed, frustrated, discouraged, irritated, concerned.  I felt stressed out.   

Feeling stressed out will happen when you have a work at home business.  No one likes to feel stressed out.  It is not a pleasant feeling.  So what should you do when you feel stressed out?   

The answer is simple.  Take a break.  Do not take a break in your home office. Leave your home office.  Go into another room.   Give yourself five minutes to de stress.  Set a timer.  If you set a timer you will not focus on when your five minutes are up. You will have the whole five minutes to focus on de stressing.  Do whatever relaxes you.  Have a snack, daydream, do some breathing exercises,  listen to music, take a walk,  look out your window,  play with your pets, give yourself a mini massage, do some stretches, meditate,  light a scented candle,  have a laugh.   

When your five minutes are up go back to work.  Do not dawdle.  Go to it.  If there is one task that is still causing you stress put it aside.  Move on to another task.  The only rule here is you must tackle the task that is causing you stress by the end of your work day.   You can not put it off.  You may have to do it and feel stressed anyway.  You are the boss and that is what bosses have to do sometimes.  Here’s to your success at your work at home business. 

http://www.selfimprovementtoolshop.com 

Marcia, Your Confidence Coach

January 31, 2007 - Posted by | being the boss, de stressing, home business, organizing your home businesss, self improvement, work, work at home, work at home business, work at home challenges

2 Comments »

  1. This is so true. It can be stressing, especially managing your time working from home. Putting out fires take your time up and is stressful. Delegating others to help put out fires and do some of the tasks will help decrease your stress.

    Amanda

    http://thetimemastery.com

    Comment by Amanda | February 4, 2007 | Reply

  2. stress is such an energy drainer. it also depletes brain power which we all need. delegting is a whole topic unto itself. if you get a chance perhaps you can share how you delgate.
    thanks.

    Comment by abetteryou | February 10, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

